Personal Site Suggestions

Kevin M

I'm planning on working on my own personal site / portfolio sort of thing. I want to be challenged so I can try to improve my coding in many languages. So I want some suggestions on features/additions that I could add to a personal site, to not only test my coding, but also attract visitors and hopefully make them enjoy my site. To rephrase, what are the kinds of things you look for in a website that you would frequently visit? I want ideas. This is going to be my biggest project yet in the little while that I have been a developer. The things I already have planned in my head are these:

• Change Page content With AJAX ***
  • Gallery and Blog/CMS Script (Made by me)
  • Nice valid layout, that looks good and users like
  • Ability for affiliation/links back (Like on some blogs)

***So that user doesn't have to change a whole page (which should cut down on loading time for Dial-Up users)So any other suggestions are welcome! Anything that you look for when you visit a website. Like usability, cool features/additions anything, even something like an RSS feed. I'm going to be spending quite a bit of time on this, probably months. I don't have a certain date set for anything, I just want to try and improve the best way I can, which would be to practise.Thanks a lot,Kevin :)

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Make an ultra flexible and dynamic CMS that uses AJAX, XSLT and stuff. That would use up half your brain

Make an ultra flexible and dynamic CMS that uses AJAX, XSLT and stuff. That would use up half your brain