sql and xml

xander85

i am very very new to the whole sql and xml thing, i use dreamhost and have got a sql database for my music library, i can export the sql table to a xml file and format it using xsl no problem at all, the problem im having is automating it so i dont have to manuall export it to a xml file, just have it all running live? it must be possible however i do not know how to...any help will be much appreciated...thanx in advance

Tricky...How exactly do you export it? By a control panel or something? If so, I'm afraid you can't automate the process, as the panel is probably not under your direct control (I mean it's source code... you can't tweak it's code).Maybe if you could install something like Query2XML, you could generate the XML from the DB in PHP and possibly even transform it there while you're at it.If not, you'll have to either use the DB to generate the final output directly, or you'll generate the XML file "manually" with PHP and then do whatever you want with it.

yeah it uses a phpMyAdmin control panel. i can export the DB manually using the control panel into XML CSV PDF etc... but its a bit of a pain really (bareable but annoying) if there is a way to do it via php (wich i know sfa about) to grab the DB table and create an xml file that would be awesome

That's just my point. There isn't one. You'll have to generate it yourself with PHP's MySQL extension. Some PEAR extensions like the one above are pre made APIs that do just that for you. If you can't install them, you'll have to create your own.

Well, you could have a PHP page that creates a new XML file, reads from the mySQL database and writes the relevant data to the file...

That's just my point. There isn't one. You'll have to generate it yourself with PHP's MySQL extension. Some PEAR extensions like the one above are pre made APIs that do just that for you. If you can't install them, you'll have to create your own.