MySQL Updating

Faracus

how do I update a MySQL table where your subtracting, and adding on to a value already in the Database.To make what i'm doing clearer, i'm building a virtual bank for a game, and I need to subtract money from one account and then credit it to another account, making sure that the one it is being taken from does not fall below $0, and I just dont see how I could do that.So any help is greatly wanted. Thanks in advance.

ok this is what I have come up, i'm pretty new at trying to do more than one thing ona page, and I would spread it over a number of pages, but I dont know how to carry the $_POST data over multiple pages, and I dont know how to forward through pages.

<?php$con = mysql_connect("localhost","user","password");if (!$con)  {  die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());  }    mysql_select_db("shackguys", $con);$query = "SELECT balance FROM bank WHERE accnumber = $_POST['to']";// Perform Query$result = mysql_query($query);// Check result// This shows the actual query sent to MySQL, and the error. Useful for debugging.if (!$result) {$message = 'Invalid query: ' . mysql_error() . "\n";$message .= 'Whole query: ' . $query;die($message);}while($row = mysql_fetch_array($result))  {if ($row['balance']>"$_POST['ammount']")  echo "$new_ammount = '$row['balance']-$_POST['ammount']'mysql_select_db('shackguys', $con);mysql_query('UPDATE bank SET balance = '$new_ammount'WHERE accnumber = '$_POST['from']')";else  echo "There is not enough money to cover the transfer from the account. Please Try again.";     }?>

There were several syntax errors. With this:

if ($row['balance']>"$_POST['ammount']")  echo "$new_ammount = '$row['balance']-$_POST['ammount']'