Delete MySQL data with a link?

toxic27

I recently added a comment script (not mine) to my site and I'm still a beginner at all the MySQL and PHP stuff. Now I have everything done with the 'If..Else' statement to make sure that I'm an admin when I need to delete a comment but now I need a 'delete' link that will delete the comment if needed. Any help? Just ask if you need more details.

What code are you working with now?It should be a simple task, actually. One query to find the correct comment and delete it.Sample code here, simply change 'user' with 'comment', or what ever you have used in your DB.

// Make the query.		$query = "DELETE FROM users WHERE user_id=$id";				$result = @mysql_query ($query); // Run the query.		if (mysql_affected_rows() == 1) { // If it ran OK.					// Print a message.			echo '<h1 id="mainhead">Delete a User</h1>		<p>The user has been deleted.</p><p><br /><br /></p>';					} else { // If the query did not run OK.			echo '<h1 id="mainhead">System Error</h1>			<p class="error">The user could not be deleted due to a system error.</p>'; // Public message.		}

Well where should I put the code you gave? BTW, I'm using PHP for the main part of it. Here's a snippet of the code..

if($session->isAdmin()){echo '<td align="left" style="text-indent: 14pt" colspan="2"><h5> '.stripslashes($info2->comment).'<br><a href="">DELETE</a></h5><br></td>';}else{echo '<td align="left" style="text-indent: 14pt" colspan="2"><h5> '.stripslashes($info2->comment).'</h5><br></td>';}echo '</tr><tr>';

So that delete link you see, I need that to be the link to click to delete the selected comment. So where do I add your code? Thanks for the help!

In another page, ie: delete_comment.php and the link for the Admin to delete that comment should point to it in the anchor tag.