Ho to disable a textbox when a radio button is selected

alobi

I have two radio buttons and two textboxes on a form, I want to be able to disable one of the textboxes when the optiion box is clicked. Pls help, I am very new to javascript. Thank you for you time. He is my code

function disablefield(){if ( document.admin.customerInfo_0.checked = true)document.admin.txtPhoneNumber.value = enabledelseif (admin.customerInfo_1.value="yes")document.admin.txtLastName.value.enabled=false}<form action="post" method="get" name="admin"><input type="radio" name="customerInfo" value="radio" id="customerInfo_0" /><input type="radio" name="customerInfo" value="radio" id="customerInfo_1" /><input name="txtPhoneNumber" type="text" id="PhoneNumber" size="25" />Last Name<input name="txtLastName" type="text" size

<!DOCTYPE html><html><head><title>Disable</title><script>window.onload = function() {document.getElementById('phone_no').onchange = disablefield;document.getElementById('phone_yes').onchange = disablefield;}function disablefield(){if ( document.getElementById('phone_no').checked == true ){document.getElementById('PhoneNumber').value = '';document.getElementById('PhoneNumber').disabled = true}else if (document.getElementById('phone_yes').checked == true ){document.getElementById('PhoneNumber').disabled = false;}}</script></head><body><form action="post" method="get" name="admin">Have a phone?:<br/>No:<input type="radio" name="Phone" value="no" id="phone_no"/>Yes:<input type="radio" name="Phone" value="yes" id="phone_yes"/><br/>Phone:<input name="PhoneNumber" type="tel" id="PhoneNumber" size="25" /><br/>Last Name:<input name="LastName" type="text" size="25" /></form></body></html>
Edited by davej
  • Like 1

I disagree with most of the answers provided there.

A lot of people are making the assumption that a form element will have properties named after the elements in contains. But what if the name of the form inputs are something like "action" or "nodeValue" for some reason?