Javascript

aniketpunk

could you elaborate on what you mean by "real coding stuff"? To be clear, w3schools is a reference first and foremost, not a substitute for classes and formal learning. Many sites offer a class / lesson plan oriented approach. w3schools is not one of them.

I think W3S is more example-based while Code Academy provides sets of assigned-tasks. Either approach can be educational if you pay attention and then write your own code to prove out your understanding of the material.

I've never studied "web programming" specifically, just programming in general. I have a degree in computer science. I've taught myself Javascript, ASP, and PHP through reading books and things like that. If you're looking for web design work then there are several freelancing sites, such as elance. There are also several forums for posting jobs or advertising your services.

Same ^.

I went to school for programming and was self taught on a number of web based programming languages. I also actively read books and online references about related topics

* Continuous Integration / Delivery / Deployment

* build tools (grunt, node, phing)

* design patterns

* coding conventions and best practices

* release management

* servers and environment maintenance

I also attend conferences and talk with my co-workers a lot. But mostly I just do. I am programming all the time. Both at work and on my own.

And if you're like me(refer to signature that will refer you to picture) you can exclude yourself from the world, and as they said, obsess over programming.

Wow guys...great..Well I am pursuing degree in IT engineering...I was searching for some guidance in extra-curricular activities like web programminh..Can you guys guide me the essential courses and certifications which will be helpful in future :)