help on my timer count up - indicating the last update

elmerdev30

Hi,

I am new to html and css but I learned a thing or two through the tutorials.

I am trying create a timer that indicates the last update of a post. So, the timer should count from 0 and stop when ever I update a new post. And, then, start the count again from 0.

I was able to formulate one with the help of the tutorials, but I can't make it the way that I wanted. Instead, the timer automatically restarts when I refresh the page.

Here's what I've made. I am not sure about the minutes and hours.

<p id="p1">Last update:

<label id="hours">00</label>:<label id="minutes">00</label>:<label id="seconds">00</label>
    <script type="text/javascript">
        var hoursLabel = document.getElementById("hours");
        var minutesLabel = document.getElementById("minutes");
        var secondsLabel = document.getElementById("seconds");
        var totalSeconds = 0;
        setInterval(setTime, 1000);

function setTime()
        {
            ++totalSeconds;
            secondsLabel.innerHTML = pad(totalSeconds%60);
            minutesLabel.innerHTML = pad(parseInt(totalSeconds/60));

++totalMinutes;
            minutesLabel.innerHTML = pad(totalMinutes%60);
            hoursLabel.innerHTML = pad(parseInt(totalMinutes/60));

++totalHours;
            hoursLabel.innerHTML = pad(totalHours%24);
            hoursLabel.innerHTML = pad(parseInt(totalMinutes/60));
        }

function pad(val)
        {
            var valString = val + "";
            if(valString.length < 2)
            {
                return "0" + valString;
            }
            else
            {
                return valString;
            }
        }
    </script></p>

Could anyone help me out with how to make this not restart whenever the page is refreshed?

I would really appreciate your help.

Thanks.

I am trying create a timer that indicates the last update of a post.