How to address cdata blocks

abartsch

Hi everybody, I'm new to XSLT and face a problem with cdata which is most probably a simple question for you. I have following XML input (which is mandatory):

<table title="Installed Packages" separator="=" caption="true" appendix="false">		    <![CDATA[Variant Name = APS]]>		    <![CDATA[b04hlr02a_VD = Z04Y5V641200]]>		    ...</table>

I'd like to address each cdata line separately but I don't know how. The corresponding XSLT part looks like that:

<xsl:when test="table[@title='Installed Packages']">	   <tr id="trResultOK">		    <td style="text-align:center"><xsl:value-of select="id"/></td>		    <td style="text-align:center"><xsl:value-of select="result"/></td>		    <td style="text-align:center"><xsl:value-of select="priority"/></td>		    <td><xsl:value-of select="text[@type='description']"/></td>		    <td><xsl:value-of select="table"/></td>	   </tr></xsl:when>

As you can see, for now I address the table element just as a whole but I'd like to have each cdata block separately i.e. every cdata should be one line in the HTML document ending with a newline. Or with other words the table data should have separate lines for each single cdata block. The HTML could look like following:

<td>	   Variant Name = APS<br />	   b04hlr02a_VD = Z04Y5V641200<br />	  ...</td>

I'd be very thankful for any help.

Are you using an XSLT 1.0 processor or an XSLT 2.0 processor?This is not possible with XSLT 1.0 for sure... I'm not entirely positive about XSLT 2.0.

In case one cannot address cdata separately using XPATH neither with XSLT 1.0 nor with 2.0 maybe you have an idea to modify the cdata within a template. I already tried XSL function like substring-before and substring-after but this does not work for me. PS: Within Perl I would implement a pattern match for "string = string" but how to do this using XSL?