OnClick javaScript command

brian_donovan

hi, I am very new to javascripts, I hope this is no to easy or absurd and you will ignore it... pleas don't!

I am trying to fill out a form using applescripts and do javascript commands, and I have notice that all submit buttons include a tag called "OnClick". My question is.... Were is the code in the OnClick coming from?

for example take a look at this page:

http://www.w3schools.com/tags/tryit.asp?filename=tryhtml5_ev_onclick

in this page the button copy text activates a string called "copyText()"

Were is all the code? does it load at the beginning? is it in the server? how can I see and read this code? can I hijack this code and activate my one javascript once I made a few adjustments?

Thank you for your time!

Brian

Edited by brian_donovan

Re-writing that example slightly...

<!DOCTYPE html><html lang="en"><head><meta charset="utf-8"><title>title</title><script>window.onload = init;function init(){document.getElementById("btn1").onclick = copyText;}// end of functionfunction copyText() {var element1 = document.getElementById("field1");var element2 = document.getElementById("field2");var text1 = element1.value;element1.value = "";element2.value = text1;}// end of function</script></head><body>Field1: <input type="text" id="field1" value="Hello World!"><br>Field2: <input type="text" id="field2"><br><br><input type="button" id="btn1" value="Copy Text"/><p>A handler function is assigned to the button click event. The function moves the text from Field1 into Field2.</p></body></html>

Were is all the code? does it load at the beginning?

It's a 1-line function defined in the head section of the HTML document:
<script>function copyText(){document.getElementById("field2").value=document.getElementById("field1").value;}</script>

Were is all the code? does it load at the beginning? is it in the server?