What tools should I use to develop a device neutral web application?

mothergoose729

I am a computer science student in my senior year at my local university. I recently was hired on as an intern to create a mobile web application. The mobile web application is very simple; it needs to interface with a data base to both give a full data base view for an administrator and for end users to fill out a simple survey. I have never done anything in web development before, so I did a little research and the tools that kept coming up where html, css, java script, and php. However, I also ran into other tools with different applications, like AJAX with Jquery, HTML5, and micrsofts asp.net. I have a basic understanding of html and css, but I haven't committed to a development platform yet. I wanted some advice on which one to choose, based on the following criteria:

1) I want to develop a website that is device neutral. So I want it to work well on both desktops and mobile devices.

2) No one knows the future, but I would like to use the development platform that is likely to become or remain the standard in the future.

3) It needs to be available as a part of a standard server platform for a typical web host

4) It needs to be able to dynamically generate web content and interface with an SQL data base.

I would really appreciate some advice, input, ect. I don't know if I will pursue a career in web development, but sense I already have to learn at least one development platform, I figure I might as well learn the right one.

Thank you for any advice and input.