Functions in jscript

rgrisham

Please forgive me, I'm new at this and old, so the going is slow.

1. If you place multiple functions in .js file, can a functions overwrite or negate other functions? If so, is there special designation that need to be placed in .js file. I'm having trouble with functions not working on the webpage like buttons not working correctly after adding a another function. (I'm not on a live webpage - just learning)

2. Are js files exclusively for functions? Can other things be placed in a .js file besides code that start with function because I've tried other things like example below and could not get them to work in the .js file.

example: document.getElementById("bark").innerHTML ="The temperature is " + toCelsius(32) + " Centigrade";​

I had to post that directly in to the body to work. This example is from the tutorial.

Any help would be appreciated

thanks

Javascript is event-driven. You write functions and then assign them to handle various events. The initializing code can run immediately in the head or body or can be assigned to the window.onload event.

<!DOCTYPE html><html lang="en"><head><meta charset="utf-8"/><title>title</title><style>h1{color:red;}</style><script src="myscript.js"></script></head><body><input type="text" id="in1"/><input type="button" id="btn1" value="Enter"/><div id="out1"></div></body>    </html>

myscript.js...

'use strict';window.onload = init;function init() {document.getElementById('btn1').onclick = put;}function put(){var value = document.getElementById('in1').value;document.getElementById('out1').innerHTML = '<h1>Temperature = '+ toCelsius(value) +'C</h1>';}function toCelsius(f){ var tf = Number(f); return 5*(tf-32)/9;}
  • Like 1

this is the html ( I would've saved this in the box like you but couldn't figure it out.