Fading div's with JS

swirlingDervish

Hello, All. Swirling noob here, and I'm trying to fade in and out a div that will load quotes from an array and I gotta admit, I'm a bit confused as to when, where and if to use an eventListener or window.setInterval or Timeout or what (sorry I don't know jQuery yet).... I can't get the animation to fully apply to each quoteRay entry and the syntax is kicking my butt:

JS:

/* Trying to load a quoteRay entry, apply color to the font, then read the CSS animationend trigger. */

function myQuotes (){
quoteRay = new Array;
quoteRay[0]="quote #1"
quoteRay[1]="quote #2"
quoteRay[2]="quote #3"
quoteClr = new Array;
quoteClr["orange","purple","red"];
for (var i=0 && quoteRay!='undefined'; i<quoteRay.length; i++){
var anim1=document.getElementById("sayArry1");
var quotePick=quoteRay;
anim1.innerHTML = quotePick;
var qtClr=quoteClr;
anim1.style.color = qtClr;
anim1.addEventListener("webkitAnimationEnd", function(){ alert("Fin");}, false);
}
}
CSS:
div#sayArry1 {
position:absolute;
width:315px;
height:250px;
top:200px;
left:400px;
color: #000000;
text-shadow: 1px 1px #a1a1a1;
animation:fadeInOut 15s infinite;
-webkit-animation:fadeInOut 15s infinite; /*Safari, Chrome*/
}
@keyframes fadeInOut
{
0% {opacity:0.0;}
15% {opacity:1.0;}
95% {opacity:1.0;}
100% {opacity:0.0;}
}
@-webkit-keyframes fadeInOut /* Safari and Chrome */
{
0% {opacity:0.0;}
15% {opacity:1.0;}
95% {opacity:1.0;}
100% {opacity:0.0;}
}
HTML:
<body onLoad ="myQuotes();>
<div id="sayArry1" style="width: 568px; height: 250px" >Free me...</div>
It's not loading the other quotes, altho it is cycling through the array, nor is it waiting through animation time....aaaah! Help. Thank you.