Callbacks, file readers and AJAX

ArgusPMC

I've run into something I've no knowledge about, even if I've already used it implicitly and this is callbacks, which as far as I'm concerned sound a little confusing. If I understood this correctly, callbacks is something like calling functions within functions and it is used a lot within asynchronous operations. Here's my issue, I have a file, I need to encode into base64 because I need to pass it to PHP to have it inserted into a database. I generally don't like inserting images or files into databases, first because there's a possibility that they might get damaged if they are not stored correctly and second because they take up a lot of space and I can see how that might be a problem when a database gets 1000 to store or some nonsense of that sort. I'd rather just store a URL path or something of that sort, but this is not an option here.

I did figure out how to make all of this work, but not in a way I like and it looks to me like something that would cause trouble if I had to use many asynchronous operations.

So here's what I have: