html form passes variable to javascript

demuro1

I am not very good with javascript. I have read through a few tutorials and I understand some elements of javascript but I admit I am a novice at best. I apologize if what I am trying to accomplish is not clearI am using an html web form to email data. Once the data is entered into the form a submit button opens up the default mail client on the device and the email contains all the pertinent data from the web form. The problem is that I can't format the data before it's loaded into the mail client and so I get things that look like "textfield1=data entered" I'd like that to look more like "textfield1: data entered" I know its a minor change but it's what would make the difference. I'd also like to require data entries into some fields. I'd also like to generate a time stamp int he email when it is generated.What I'd like to do is utilize javascript for this. I've heard that it can be done and I am able to find snippets of data from some of this stuff. I can't use any kind of server side scripting, not that I know any more about that, and javascript just seems to be the best solution.I may be mistaken but it I think I don't understand the method by which you'd call a document. so there should be something like formvariable.document(some javascript goes here I think) and then an on submit button at the end. I may be mistaken. Does this make any sense? Can someone point me to a tutorial with something like this as the content to perhaps provide a snippet of code that I could look at and maybe recycle?I'd appreciate any help you can provide. I'm attaching a sample form that describes what I have on the html front.