Assistance with querying an XML Document

lee.sydenham@bllaw.co.uk

I am a Systems Administrator and am new to XML so looking for some assistance if possible please.The problem I am trying to solve is with folder permissions in file structures.I have written a small script which will loop through a folder structure and create an xml file containing all folder names in the tree and the permissions assigned to each, e.g:<RootFolder> <Folder name=""> <Permissions> <Acl></Acl> <Acl></Acl> ... </Permissions> <Folder name=""> <Permissions> <Acl></Acl> <Acl></Acl> ... </Permissions> <Folder name=""> </Folder> ... </Folder> <Folder name=""> ... </Folder> ... </Folder></RootFolder>Given this XML I would like to construct a query to display the folder name if the permissions of a folder are different to the permissions of its parent. Can anyone advise if this is possible and how I might go about doing it?Thanks,Lee.

It really depends on what language you plan to use to query the XML with. I'm not sure I understand the idea either. Could you fill up the above sample with some data, also giving some possible desired output?