XSD Defaults Populate XML document

sauronlord

Hi,I'm new to XML, XSD and XSLT.I was wondering if there is a way to "fill out" an XML document with its default values, as if "expanded" so that my XSLT processor could use these defaults in generating the output.I think if I had a schema-aware XSLT processor (SAXON-SA), then I could get this done easily as the transformation would be done against an XML document validated against an XSD.That is not an option for my company for various reasons.Is there a 2-stage process I can execute (in Java SAX/DOM?) that will "fill out" the required default values for elements or attributes?I see there are validator classes, but none of these allow me to "write back" the resultant XML(with defaults populated) so that I may use the "expanded" form in subsequent processing.Thanks,

I'm not sure I follow what you mean by "default values" and "expanded".Do you want to generate a new XML that is valid according to a selected XML Schema? If so, you could use Stylus Studio. It has that ability. However, it's an IDE, not a program you could use to automate such process.But really, what's the big scenario? Why would you need to do that?

I'm not sure I follow what you mean by "default values" and "expanded".Do you want to generate a new XML that is valid according to a selected XML Schema? If so, you could use Stylus Studio. It has that ability. However, it's an IDE, not a program you could use to automate such process.But really, what's the big scenario? Why would you need to do that?