.htaccess url rewriting

aspnetguy

I am trying to rewrite a url that might look like this www.mydomain.com/page.php?name=Joe&id=100 to look like this www.mydomain.com/engine/Joe/100.htmlI have the following .htaccess file. The first part tells all php pages to be processed by PHP5 so it is required.

AddHandler x-httpd-php5 .php# BEGIN WordPress<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>RewriteEngine OnRewriteBase /RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-fRewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-dRewriteRule . /index.php [L]</IfModule># END WordPressOptions +FollowSymLinksRewriteEngine onRewriteRule engine/(.*)/(.*)\.html$ xuml.php?name=$1&id=$2

Am I even close? This is my first attempt at url rewriting for Apache.

I thought you said you want to rewrite the URL www.mydomain.com/page.php?name=Joe&id=100. From your sample, it seems you're rewriting the URL www.mydomain.com/xuml.php?name=Joe&id=100. Oh well, let's suppose that is the name of the true page.I'm not seeing the use of this line:

RewriteRule . /index.php [L]

By default the directory index is index.php anyway, unless you were on some weird hosting plan. You can do a simple directory listing without mod_rewrite by simply using

<IfModule dir_module>	DirectoryIndex index.php</IfModule>

The condition being there only for graceful degradation.Also, the rewrite rule allows for empty strings. The following URL is possible

www.mydomain.com/engine//.html

I'd use "+" instead of "*" to avoid that, like so:

RewriteRule engine/(.+)/(.+)\.html$ xuml.php?name=$1&id=$2

btw, if you'll be masking PHP as HTML pages, you might want to turn the expose_php directive from php.ini to "off".

yeah I grabbed the example from my page after writing the post, I should have matched up the page names. But it is correct though? It isn't working so I thought I must have it wrong.

Try to add ^ at the beginning of the rule. That is:

RewriteRule ^engine/(.+)/(.+)\.html$ xuml.php?name=$1&id=$2

doesn't seem to workI have this for my .htaccess file