Suggestions on learning Java

javaholic5

Hi,I'm not a programmer but would like to become one.I've read about Java, and know what it can do compared to other OOP and structured languages. I have decided that I want to learn the language. Any suggestions on how to approach this as a non-programmer??How long might It take for a non-programmer to learn 'CORE' Java?I assume that once I know CORE Java, i'd be fine on continuing to make progress.

Do you want to learn Java for the Java Virtual Machine (JVM) or for Java Server Pages (JSP) and a web implementation?For JVM, first get an IDE, I suggest Eclipse. For both methods, start with simple concepts, practicing the basic programming constructs (sequence, selection and iteration). Make a "hello world!" program (make it print "hello world" on the screen). Then, move on to objects and the other more complex language features. I would sincerely suggest you buy or borrow a book on the language, they often will be able to guide you through a structured approach to learning the language.How long? Depends on how deep you want to go :) could take up to 10 years to truly master it but the concepts should come within a month. Err... and Java relies heavily on libraries that provide functionality, so you still have quite a way to go after learning the "core" of the language. For example, if you want to create graphical UIs for your JVM applications then you will have to learn about the Abstract Windowing Toolkit and the Software Windowing Toolkit, or Swing.

When I first learned Java, I spent a lot of time going through Sun's tutorials here:http://java.sun.com/developer/onlineTraining/
Yeh, the Java Tutorial from the Sun site is supposed to be good.Were you already a programmer when you started to learn Java?

Yeh, the Java Tutorial from the Sun site is supposed to be good.Were you already a programmer when you started to learn Java?