Starting out.

Hello,I'm completely new to programming (as in I started learning html yesterday). Like the site, was looking for a good free tutorial, and voilà! To start with I just wanted to be sure I'm right to begin with html? Or should I learn it parallel to something else such as CSS? (I was browsing the forum and saw someone suggest this).Just to add some context, I'm very determined and will be trying to average 3-4 hours of study a day. I spent 6 years working in advertising, then the last 4 years teaching business English to middle and upper management in eastern Europe. I'm hoping that I'll become proficient enough at programming that I can combine it with the skills I've learnt over the last 10 years.I want to learn as quickly as possible, but languages are not something that come naturally to me (ironic considering my job) so I'll probably be asking what you might consider stupid questions to begin with, if you have no patience (or are patronising/condescending etc lol) just ignore my posts. :) Otherwise, any help will be greatly appreciated.Cheers, TCS

• Replies 87
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The line breaks and extra spaces don't matter, you can write it like this if you want to, it won't be rendered in the final document:

<b>	 Some  Text			Some Text	   Some Text</b>

It will be rendered like this:

Some Text Some Text Some Text

So you just go with whatever you find easiest to look at basically.OK thanks Ingolme appreciate it.Edit: <pre> obviously adds the spaces but...<pre>blah blah</pre>and <pre>blahblah</pre>Would be the same right? (Think I'm making this into a bigger issue than it actually is lol)