Help Regarding Simple Transformation Scenario

sbutt

Hi Folks, I'm new to xslt transofrmation so need a little help in transforming the following example.Input:

<Persons>12</Persons>

Output:

<PassengerRPHs ListOfPassengerRPH="1 2"/>

The main thing above is to put a space between digits, 123 -> 1 2 3.It would be perfect if the transformation also handles 9101112 -> 9 10 11 12In typical java programming, i know i can tokenize it using some RE and put a space in between and concatenate, but i'm not sure how to do the same in XSLT:(Any help would be much appreciated.

You can only do that in XSLT 2.0 unfortunatly. SAXON and AltovaXML are the only two known (and stable enough) implmentations of it. They are available for JAVA and .NET (...and COM in the case of AltovaXML).Alternatively, if you have a capable XSLT 1.0 processor, you may use the EXSLT equivalent. If you use PHP, you could instead registerPHPFunctions(), and use them from within.

Thanks your reply, but could you please give me a small code snippet or pointer on how to handle the problem in hand using either of the possibilities?

You can only do that in XSLT 2.0 unfortunatly. SAXON and AltovaXML are the only two known (and stable enough) implmentations of it. They are available for JAVA and .NET (...and COM in the case of AltovaXML).Alternatively, if you have a capable XSLT 1.0 processor, you may use the EXSLT equivalent. If you use PHP, you could instead registerPHPFunctions(), and use them from within.

Thanks your reply, but could you please give me a small code snippet or pointer on how to handle the problem in hand using either of the possibilities?
In which language you want to run XSLT in? OS?

In Java: javax.xml.transform.OS: Linux/Win32
With SAXON, that would be something like: