Beginner XML question

banapple

Greetings, excellent forums here. I wish I had looked into them months ago...Anyways, I am just starting to learn javascript and have some questions on XML. For my web pages to write to these xml files, I need to set the file permissions to read/write for everybody. This just doesn't seem cool to me. While I can design my javascript program to be very careful about what it puts into the file through code, couldn't someone just delete or royally mess up that file on the web server?Also, for an actual use for it, and to play around with my javascript, I want to make a simple game. Like maybe tictactoe. If both people playing the game are on my website, could I record in the xml file where they put their x or o, have my js use a setinterval type thing to keep reading from the xml file, and then display it on the other person's browser? I could have them input their names and who they are playing against to keep track of who is playing w/ who.Thanks for any advice. I'm just getting started here and loving it. My next step will be php and mySQL.

With JavaScript alone, you can't change anything on the server, for exactly the security reasons you've mentioned.If you want to change a file on the server, you'll need to use PHP or some other server side language.

File permissions in this sense do not apply directly to the person operating the browser. The "user" is the PHP script itself, which cannot write anything to the server if the permissions are incorrectly set. Unless your script provides a means of uploading data and writing it to the server, the person operating the browser can do no damage. This is why it is important for your PHP script to have some basic security features, like checking usernames and passwords against some sort of file or database.