There has got to be a better way...

ehartnett00

I'm a css newbie trying to put something together for work. I've used some code from other sites to put together a design that I'm happy with. My problem is that it seems that I'm spending way too much time trying to get things to line up. I have two columns in a number of places and I can get the text in the first column to line up but getting the text to line up in the second column has been a problem as you'll be able to see from my code below. I got things to look good pretty easily with ff but when I checked ie I really had to make most of the modifications you see. Here is my css:body {background: white; color: black; font-family: times}div#main2 {width: 75%; margin: 1em 12.5% 2em; background: #BDE}div#punch {float: left; font-size: 400%; width: 2.0em; text-align: center; padding: 0.1em 0.1em 0; background: #346; color: white; border: solid white 1px; border-width: 0 0.2em 0.2em 0; margin: 0 0.5em 0.2em 0;}div#main2 h2 {margin: 0; padding: 0.25em 1em 0.125em 0; background: #8AB; text-align: right; text-transform: lowercase; font-family: sans-serif; border-bottom: 1px solid #68A;}div#main2 h4 {margin-left: 87px; margin-top: 0; padding: 0.25em 1em 0.125em 0.25em; background: #DFEAFF; text-align: left; text-transform: lowercase; font-family: sans-serif; border-bottom: 1px solid #68A;}div#main2 p.first {margin-left: 25%}div#main2 p.second {margin-left: 92px}div#main2 p.seconda {margin-left: 130px}div#main2 p.third {margin-left: 140px}div#main2 p.fourth {margin-left: 60px}div#main2 p.fifth {margin-left: 160px}div#main2 p.sixth {margin-left: 38px}p.printversion {margin-left: 585px; font-size:90%; color:#346}strong:hover:after{content: "\00BB"}strong:hover:before{content: "\00AB"}Here is a link to the page I'm working on:Psychology Subject GuideIs there a better/easier way to get things to line up?Thanks for your help.