Inexpensive Web Server?

Man In Tan

NetGear Stora $180 USDOkay, my current web server is just a ten year old iMac. For obvious reasons, it can't take the stress, but I don't have a lot of money. Web servers seem to be expensive, I think I may have found a cheaper one that will work, a NetGear Stora (about $180 USD), but all of the software details they are they are trying to use as selling points (except the optional mirroring back-up hard drive) greatly displease me.They say it integrates with FaceBook, and is great for media and such. I'm after an Apache web server, to use for my PHP-based sites. I'm new at this, so this will be my first "real" web server. Can this sort of device be overwritten with something like Linux, and used as a web sever?Seagate GoFlex $130 USDA cheaper option I found is this Seagate GoFlex (about $130 USD). However, it seems to be used for system back-ups, and requires that you use one of several browsers that I don't have installed on my machine. So, same question: Can it be overwritten with Linux and be used as a web server? Does anyone have any suggestions?

Half the universe runs apache on top of linux because its FREE and there's a huge community out there to lend support. The other things you're looking at are really just net-enabled hard drives. Not the same as a webserver, not by far.