HTML: Meta Element

TheGallery

Hello guys, i am new in web development and there are some things that i am concerned about. I am not looking forward into making the best websites out there (not just yet) but at least (since i am new with all this) i'd like to make websites that feel good and right to other's. I don't want to give the impression that i am new to this and i don't want to miss any "standard" methods that i should have used. Anyway, i like using Firebug to watch how other sites are made so i can become better and use more methods in my development. Today my question has to do with the Meta element, i see that most websites have a really long code in their headers and i'd like to know if there are any standard methods that i should use for my websites. Besides the keywords, description and the author. Thanks in advance

Hello,Meta tags in general as not as popular as they were a decade ago, however they do still have some uses. Using W3Schools as an example:

<meta name="Keywords" content="XML,tutorial,HTML,DHTML,CSS,XSL,XHTML,JavaScript,ASP,ADO,VBScript,DOM,W3C,authoring,programming,learning,beginner's guide,primer, lessons,school,howto,reference,free,examples,samples,source code,demos,tips,links,FAQ,tag list,forms,frames,color tables, Cascading Style Sheets,Active Server Pages, Dynamic HTML,Internet database development,Webbuilder,Sitebuilder,Webmaster,HTMLGuide,SiteExpert" /><meta name="Description" content="HTML XHTML CSS JavaScript XML XSL ASP SQL ADO VBScript Tutorials References Examples" />