HTTP 500 error when using MySQL

Hellok

I installed php, along with mysql and apache and got php and apache working properly together it seems. I have no problems when it comes to just using php code, to display a date for example, but when I try to use mysql, I get an HTTP 500 error. I've only gotten that error when there's a flaw with the code I've written. However, I copied and pasted the following example from the w3schools php mysql tutorial, to eliminate any of my stupid mistakes, yet I still get the error.<?php$con = mysql_connect("localhost","peter","abc123");if (!$con) { die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error()); }if (mysql_query("CREATE DATABASE my_db",$con)) { echo "Database created"; }else { echo "Error creating database: " . mysql_error(); }mysql_close($con);?>I'm pretty new to web design.What could the problem be?I really appreciate any help, thanks.

The problem could be anything. Turn on error reporting so you can figure out why.ini_set('display_errors', 1);error_reporting(E_ALL);If you're using IE, either use a different browser or disable friendly HTTP errors. You want the actual error message, not the default "there was an error" page.

That means the mysql extension is not enabled in PHP. You'll need to edit php.ini to enable the extension and restart the server.The mysql extension is usually bundled with PHP though. When you installed PHP, what did you download?

You should be able to search for "extensions" inside php.ini to find the list of extensions, and uncomment the line for mysql. I'm concerned if it's disabled though, you might not even have the mysql files. But, first try to enable the extension, restart the server, and try it again.