fly-out menu with CSS? (also expandable list)

brynn

Hi Friends,

I'm still quite new to CSS. I have a working webpage, but I keep adding more and more and more links to several lists. What I really need is to sort of be able to close up certain sections of a long list. Let's say it's a list of authors (vertical list). I want to be able to either mouseover or click on an author's name, and have all the books they've written....show up....somehow. I'm thinking about something like a fly-out menu.

Can anything like that be done with CSS? I've been all over the W3Schools site, trying to find something like that. I'm not really thrilled with the idea of learning how to write a script, but I guess that's how things get automated on webpages, with scripts. If it would be a short script, I might be able to do it. The closest thing that sounds like it might work is JS Navigation. But it turns out that does something not even close to what I need.

I wonder if anyone can point me in the right direction, to learn how to do something like that?

Thank you very much :D

Edit

I tweaked the title after msg #37, since the subject of the topic changed as the discussion (and my coding) progressed.

Edited by brynn

Not only can it be done with just CSS, but it's better to do so in the off chance your client has JS disabled. Look at CSSPlay for some ideas. If you're not sure what you're looking at, ask. The menu basics are quite simple once you know what to look for.

Ok. I wasn't sure about posting it here, because of the copyright. Here's a bit of the CSS part:

/* hide the sub levels and give them a positon absolute so that they take up no room */.menu ul ul {visibility:hidden;position:absolute;top:0;left:150px;}/* make the second level visible when hover on first level list OR link */.menu ul li:hover ul,.menu ul a:hover ul {visibility:visible;}

It looks like it sets up a class called "menu" for unordered lists, but I don't understand

.menu ul ul

or

.menu ul li:hover ul