Need help aligning divs next to each other with CSS

WestX64

Hello everyone!

I'm sure this probably seems like a simple issue to the more experienced HTML / CSS coders out there, but please bear with me as I'm just a beginner. Also, I have performed several Google searches on the issues and found a few people with similar questions but the solutions don't seem to work for me for whatever reason. So I have setup a simple bare bones example of what I'm trying to do and I will post the code below.

The HTML code:

<!doctype html><html>	<head>		<Title>Div Alignment Test</title>		<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="main2.css">	</head>		<body>		<div id="wrapper">			<div id="top">				<h1>Header</h1>			</div>						<div id="left">				<p>Left div set to 20 percent</p>			</div>						<div id="right">				<p>Right div set to 100 percent</p>			</div>		</div>	</body></html>

The CSS code:

#wrapper{	max-width: 800px;	min-width: 400px;	margin-left: auto;	margin-right: auto;}#top{	width:100%;	height: 100px;	background-color: green;	line-height: 100px;	text-align: center;}#left{	width: 20%;	float: left;	background-color: red;	height: 800px;}#right{	width: 80%;	float: left;	background-color: blue;	height: 800px;}

So what I am trying to do is have the #left div have a set width of 150px (for example) and the #right dive take up the rest of the space inside the #wrapper div so that the page will adjust when you make the browser window smaller. The way I have it right now works, but the #left div re-sizes too since its width is defined as a percentage. If I put a set width of say 200px, the #right div will drop down below the #left div. If I set the #left div to a smaller number like 100px, then the #right div sits next to it until you re-size the browser window to a certain point and then it drops below the #left div still...