Webpage Indexing

DizzyDan

I have a family member that runs a wholesale electrical part company where they have a database with hundreds of thousands of parts.

They asked me if I could create a website so people can search for their parts via web search.

They also mentioned they spoke to someone years ago that indexing this was an issue which is why they haven't moved forward yet, saying that you can only submit so many pages to google.

I was under the impression that google automatically indexes your site but I have never worked on something of that scale before.

Is this true? Is there a way to confirm all the parts will get indexed? Is there a pay per 1000 to ensure indexing?

Google should index all the pages on your site as long as there are links to them (which possibly is not happening currently). Hundreds of thousands is quite a lot, though.

If you actually have such a large amount of items in the database I would recommend structuring your data and building your own search feature. Databases are intended to be searched.

Having your website built in a tree structure would be easier. Each branch of the tree would be slightly more specific than the last, this is data architecture. Trees are much faster to navigate than lists.

Take Canada Computers, for example: www.canadacomputers.com/

Under "Shop Products" they have a set of options, under each of those options they have subcategories. Clicking on a subcategory will take you to a page where products are shown and on the left of the page the category is further divided into more options.

An example of one of the paths you can take down the tree is

"Laptops, Dektops and Tablets" > "Laptops & Ultrabooks" > "Notebooks"

After that, they give you dropdown to filter by "All" or "Best Selling"

When you have such a large amount of data, data architecture is important.

Thank you for your reply! They do already have a search feature they just want to update it with the new 1 million parts.