Need some help to fix the background of a text box

Shockowaffel

headerproblem.jpg.c75242e518583dc0a3f0e707dfe2b13d.jpg

I have some knowledge about html and css and I am confident in beeing able to hack through most problems through trial and error, but in this case I dont even have an idea on how to fix it and I am afraid it's really simple.

So I simply want this black background behind the text and it's supposed to be equal on both sides, but the padding starts virtually too late for that to work.

body {position: relative;}

body,html,h1,h2,h3,h4,h5,h6,p {font-family: "Lato", sans-serif;}
body, html {
    height: 100%;
    color: #777777;
    line-height: 1.8;}

html {font-size:1rem;}

body {font-size:100%;}

h1  {font-size: 1.777em;
	text-align: center;
	color: white;}
.headline2 {letter-spacing: 0.8em;}	

.w3-wide {letter-spacing: 0.625em;}

<div class="bgimg-1 w3-display-container w3-opacity-min" id="home">
  <div class="w3-display-middle">
    <h1><span class="w3-black w3-padding-large w3-wide w3-animate-opacity">THORSTEN ERDT</span></h1>
    <h1><span class="headline2 w3-animate-opacity">ILLUSTRATION</span></h1>
  </div>
</div>

Edited by Shockowaffel

It looks like the behaviour of the letter-spacing property is to add additional space to the right of each letter rather than equally distribute it on both sides. This means that you will have to adjust the padding to accommodate that. Since the letter spacing is in ems, you'll have to define the padding in ems and have the right padding be the letter-spacing amount less than the left padding.

Thank you, to check for what you said, I removed the w3-wide padding and added an inline padding to the first h1 (dont mind the high value)

<div class="w3-display-middle w3 mobile">
    <h1 class="w3-black w3-padding-large w3-animate-opacity" style="padding-left: 5.5em">THORSTEN ERDT</h1>
    <h1 class="headline2 w3-animate-opacity">ILLUSTRATION</h1>
  </div>
</div>

Here's the result: