w3 css - max width

mg19

Question, I am new to w3 css but I plan on using this versus bootstrap.  One thing I am trying to figure out is how to not use the screen 100% like bootstrap.  Is there a way to use only 80% or so of the screen or a certain pixel width and still make it work with all devices?

thanks for your help!

• 2 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...
On 2/11/2019 at 10:56 PM, mg19 said:

One thing I am trying to figure out is how to not use the screen 100% like bootstrap

Normally by default, bootstrap uses a fixed smaller width for larger devices, then 100% for smaller devices. You would only get 100% width on all devices if you used the class that gives 100% width whatever device size.

• 1 month later...

dsonesuk, thank you for this help! :)  have another question you might be able to answer.

I am using w3-modal to display account notes.  the idea is when you click more on any account note it brings up the entire note in a modal.  I was wanting a way to when you click the link it will have a unique id and search the SQL database for the id and load the data into the modal so I don't have to load a bunch of models with unique names in the code increasing the page load time.

Can you point me in a direction for this?  I was thinking javascipt/json but i don't know if this is right.  When I look in google all I get is bootstrap and jquery which I dont want to use.  My back end is php/sql and w3-css.

Thank you,

Ss it possible to use only javascript without jquery?  I read about people saying to stay away from jquery, not sure why but don't want to make a mistake and have to re-code everything later.

As always, thank you.

JQuery IS JavaScript, but is a library framework of functions to make code cross browser friendly and easier  to manipulate elements