Sort Table takes too long to load

KLu

I'm new, please bear with me. I know only a bare minimum of html/css/javascript so I've been using the How to Sort a Table tutorial to create a 5-column table I need. And it worked great, up until I hit entries in the hundreds, and then it started slowing down whenever I clicked on the headers to sort the entries. The problem is I need over 2,300 entries on this table, at which point it takes so long to load that the webpage just stops functioning.

Is there a better way to sort a large table like this? I looked to javascript because it's the only thing I'm even vaguely familiar with that can do clickable, sortable headers, but if there's something else out there that can do the job then that's what I need to learn.

• 1 month later...

I am also a beginner. I had the same problem. I have developped a function and it's possible to sort a table with ~ 7 000 rows in less than 1 second.

It's the following function with a few comments.

Eric

// 'Table': table element
// 'FirstRow': first row to sort (0 if no header and first row must also be sorted)
// 'ColSort': order number of the column used to sort (0 for he first column)
// 'VMode': mode (0: alphabetical, 1: numeric)
// 'VInv': order (true: ascending, false: descending)
// Other parameters are possible (ex.: lowercase/uppercase/with case, detect not numeric values,...)

function NewSortTable(Table, FirstRow, ColSort, VMode, VInv) {
//var T0 = GiveTime()
var i, ValA, RowsDat = [], RId, Ce, Row, TabRows = Table.getElementsByTagName('TR') // Table and table rows
// Read rows data (value of the cell and id of the row)
for (i = FirstRow; i < TabRows.length; i++)
    {
    Row = TabRows; RId = Row.id; if (String(RId) == '') {RId = 'TmpSort' + String(i); Row.id = RId;}
    Ce = Row.getElementsByTagName('TD')[ColSort];
    if (VMode == 0) {ValA = Ce.innerHTML; ValA = ValA.toLowerCase();} // Alphabetical sorting - Use displayed value in lowercase