Help Java Tables

shortage

Ok well im new to this so ill give it a go :)i am creating a tax cotpit for a company i need help on useing tables and buttons in java scriptbasicly what i have is check boxes on every row and the readonly text boxes on each row. what i want to do is when a button is pressed and the check box on that row is checked that the readonly boxes on that row are no longer readonly.thank you

I have spent a fair amount of time trying what should be extremely easy fixes to this, but to no avail.First, I tried:

<html><head><title>Toggling Read/Write</title><script type="text/javascript">function toggle(els) {if(els.checked) {  els.nextSibling.onfocus=""} else {  els.nextSibling.onfocus="this.blur()"}}</script></head><body><form name="cotpit"><input type="checkbox" id="readWrite" name="readWrite" onchange="toggle(this)"/><input type="text" name="readWrite" value="stuff you can't edit" onfocus="this.blur()" /></form></body>

or something like it, which successfully removed the onfocus="this.blur()" property initially set for the text box, but did not reset it when the box was unchecked. I tried changing els.nextSibling.onfocus="" to onfocus="this.focus()", thinking that maybe JavaScript would have difficulty assigning a property set to null, as it sometimes does if there is no preexisting property. Then I tried various other things with even less success. Not as simple as it should be, or perhaps I'm just dumb.

I'll add more dead end attempts, to save someone else the hassle:

<html><head><title>Toggling Read/Write</title><script type="text/javascript">function toggle(els) {i = 0while(els <= els.length) {  els[i].checked ? els[i+1].onfocus="" : els[i+1].onfocus="this.blur()";i++;}}</script></head><body><form name="cotpit"><input type="checkbox" id="readWrite" name="readWrite" onchange="toggle(this.form)"/><input type="text" name="readWrite" value="stuff you can't edit" onfocus="this.blur()" /></form></body>

Guest FirefoxRocks