Advice for a beginner

turjohn

So I the other day I had a good idea for a website that I would like to try to make a reality in my spare time. Problem is, I have no clue how to create a website. I am an electrical engineer, and have done a decent amount of coding in assembly, Visual Basic, C and C++, so I would think I could pick up the coding aspect relatively quickly. What I am hoping to get is some direction on where to focus my efforts and how different tools come together.The site I have in mind (hope this doesn't just turn into a pipe dream) will ultimately have user accounts, incorporate google maps to show locations, have the ability for users to upload/download thier own files, etc. Given what I have in mind, it would be awesome if I could get some input on what I should be looking to learn. This site looks like a great resource, but does anyone have suggestions for a good book that might help me out with where I am trying to go?Thanks in advance!!!