Complicated Attributes validation

talsnir

Hello Gurus,I am rather new to XSD so I apologize if my question seems a little dumb.Anyway, I have this problem with validating attributes. I have a case where I need to assure that one attribute is shown if and only if another attribute is shown.For example:<Report searchable="true" searchSize="10"/> Is OK and:<Report searchable="true"/> is also OKbut, in a case like this: <Report searchSize="10"/>I expect the schema to alert me.Can anyone please let me know how it is done?Thanks a lot,T.

I say use XSLT:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?><xsl:stylesheet version="1.0" xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform"><xsl:template match="reports">	<xsl:for-each select="Report">			   <xsl:value-of select="@searchSize" /><br />	</xsl:for-each></xsl:template></xsl:stylesheet>

...this is if you xml is simliar to:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?><reports>	<Report searchSize="10"/> 	<Report searchSizse="20"/>	<Report anotherAttribute="Whatever"/>  </reports>

You can also use a choose with when tests/otherwise

WOW... Thanks a lot kvnmck18.I've been waiting for an answer for so long.First, I wasn't even thinking about XSLT because I didn't understand I can actually use it in order to validate XML documents so thank you for that.Second, I need further more clarications... Where is the "searchable" attribute? I need to promise that the searchSize only appears if the searchable attribute exists and its value is "true". I didn't see any refernces in your reply for the "searchable" attribute.Third. the Report element has a lot more attibutes beside the above two - Is it a problem?Thanks a lot...T.