Newbie needs direction

waynenoel

Hello. I am just getting started learning language and I don't know where to start. It seems like the first things I should know well are HTML, CSS, PHP, and JavaScript... right? If so, should I study one at a time, or mix them, which comes first, etc... :0) Thanks,Wayne

Learn HTML and CSS first. HTML lays out the structure of your page, CSS makes it look pretty. Javascript is for client-side interaction, like a mouseover effect when you hover over an image. PHP is for server-side processing, like if you want your site to send email or use a database. Before you even look at PHP you need to have a solid understanding of at least HTML.There's also about 20 other topics exactly like your question, so browse around and see what other people say.

Like justsomeguy said, definately HTML and CSS first. I would suggest reading through the XHTML tutorial at W3Schools too. XHTML is basically just some rules put into HTML, and it isn't really a language of it's own, but it's worth learning the rules of it.For PHP and Java Script, it depends on what you want to do. Java Script is client side (done by the browser), and PHP is server side (done by your server). It you're looking to add some cool effects, or do things like validate forms, add some mouse over effects or something similar, than Java Script is what you're looking for. But, if you'd like to make your own web application, like a photo gallery, guestbook, blog or even as advanced as a forum system, I would learn PHP and Java Script. They both have their own seperate purposes, but learning both and using them correctly in a good way will truely improve the quality of your developing/programming if you ask me. :)