Encountering problems while trying to avoid the font tag

Empy3

Hiya, I'm new to these forums, so I'll toss a couple quick things out that might help:1. I'm self-taught as far as HTML goes. A couple months ago I was asked to create a website for my MMO guild (yes, I am a gamer ;x) and thought that it would be a good idea to create it in XHTML so that I learned how to do it right. Therefore, it's entirely possible that I missed something obvious, so if this ends up just being a stupid question, I apologize.2. I've looked for answers several other places, and I'm sure this is adressed somewhere several threads on these forums, but I couldn't find anything that fixed my specific problem.3. Opera is my main browser and I run on a 1024x768 screen size, but the page should display more or less correctly on any screen setting that is at least 1024x768. How the page loads in Opera is ideally what I'd like it to look like in any browser.4. The page is hosted on Angelfire at the moment, and for this I apologize profusely. I'm having trouble finding a web host that doesn't charge rediculous $ for the traffic my guild generally incurs, or require me to spend 200 hours a month making insightful posts on their forums. I work 2 jobs and run my fiancee's guild so that he has the time/$ to focus on school, consequently I'm short on both. (Btw, if anyone knows of some reasonable web host, input on that would also be <3'd. My google searches haven't turned up much helpful.)Basically, I'm having trouble finding a way to change text colors without using the font tag. My page is using transitional XHTML, so I know that I -can-, but I'd rather learn the right way to do it it without the font tags. I can't use the paragraph tag, because I need the text to change color without starting a new paragraph every time, and I also don't want to turn the affected text into headings. Additionally, the color change works in Opera and apparently Firefox, but not IE. Any help/input onto fixing this in