Laying out DIVs

javierdl

Bare with me I'm so new to CSS. I am testing out CSS layout techniques with DIVs (instead of tables). And so far I have learned that the DIV margin property will define its position on the page, depending on how much margin it's given on each of its sides. What I can't figure out so far is how to put 2 (or more) DIVs side by side?To be more specific, the question is how to do it using this techniqueThe main problem I have encountered is that the margin of the 1st DIV keeps me from positioning the 2nd DIV next to it. But then again, keep in mind I'm just a CSS rookie, so...Thanks,JDL

You will need to put everything in a wrapper div. Then within that, you will have to "float" 2 divs. That will give you your columns.Give this a try:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd"><html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml"><head><meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" /><title>Untitled Document</title><style type="text/css">body {margin:0;padding:0;background-color:#000;}#wrapper {margin:0 auto;background-color:#fff;width:700px;}#content {float:left;position:relative;width:60%;background-color:#99ff66;}#rightcolumn {float:left;position:relative;width:40%;background-color:#33ccff;}</style></head><body><div id="wrapper">	<div id="content">    <p>This is all of your content</p>    </div>	<div id="rightcolumn">    <p>This is the right column</p>    </div></div></body></html>

If nothing else, that should get you going in the right direction.

One question about your code S@m:Could you please explain why you chose "float" ? Just trying to learn.

#content {float:left;position:relative;width:60%;background-color:#99ff66;}
This is what I've done so far, could you please have a look, I could really use a hand figuring out what's wrong with the right side box.J.