Drowning, not waving.

Justin

I'm a part time photographer looking to build my business up again after a move to Ireland.Having been messed about by a couple of website designers (one wanted to charge me a days work for downsizing 40 images, I went home and did it within 30 mins in Photoshop) I've decided to give it a go myself now that we have broadband at last.I have a domain name and server space all booked and ready to go, but what I don't have is a site. I built one in MS Publisher and asked an 'expert' to help upload it. Easy he said, and then messed it up completely, but still took the money. A friend has kindly offered advice and put me in touch with this site but time is at a premium and I haven't the patience to build a site from scratch using HTML only. So I seek advice. If publisher is hopeless (as I am told) which programme is best suited to a newbie like me? How do I go about up-loading it and linking it to my URL? The website I have in mind is a simple one that can be downloaded quickly and will operate smoothly. Many of my potential customers may still be on dial up (yes I know this is the 21st century but rural Ireland has been very poorly served, it is a national scandal) so how do I minimise the content yet retain the impact of photographs? I would also like to think of the site as being dynamic, ie, constantly updated and changed to reflect events and services offered which is another reason why I don't really want to go for the 'one off' designer sites.I appreciate the answers to these questions may already be floating around on this site but which answers are relevent and serve me best?All help very much appreciated.Justin.