Problems parsing XML Feed in Javascript

kwilliams

I'm just learning how to parse an XML feed with JavaScript, but I'm having some problems. If I copy and paste the code from the XML feed into an internal file, and I reference that file in my code, it works fine. But when I try to change the XML source doc to the XML feed's URL (http://codeamber.org/a1xl04act/amberalert.xml), nothing shows up. Obviously there's something that I'm missing when it comes to parsing an internal XML doc vs. an XML feed. In addition to pulling in the main elements, I'm trying to pull the attributes of some elements without success. So if anyone could let me know what I'm missing and/or doing wrong, it would be greatly appreciated. I've included my code below: