Trying to Understand

zeroCool

Hello:I am currently a student in at Wastenaw Community College. One of the classes I am taking teaches JavaScript. But I am not learning so well, the only points I have gotten in the class so far were from the HTML/CSS and tests. I really don't understand at all, and unless I pick my grades up, I am going to fail. So I decided to review all the old assignments in an attempt to try and understand. But I am still having trouble so I thought I should get some help, it would be appreciated.Right now I'm on for-loops, in the first assignment. note: We were still using DOM0 methods this early on in the class.My Code:var listItems = ["Automotive","Energy","Entertainment","Health Care","Education","Government"];function list() { document.write("<ul>"); for (var items = listItems[0]; itmes < listItmes[5]; itmes++) { document.write("<li>" + items + "</li>") } document.write("</ul>")}Code form the Solution:var industries = ["Automotive","Energy","Entertainment","Health Care","Education","Government"];function list() { document.write('<ul>'); for (var i=0, allIndustries = industries.length; i<allIndustries; i++) { document.write('<li>' + industries + '</li>'); } document.write('</ul>');}For this I basically need someone to explain to me why mine is wrong and how the for-loop from the solution works.

The problem with your code is this:for(var items = listItems[0]; itmes < listItmes[5]; itmes++)The for command is an iterator: it only needs a number, not any other kind of data:.The program interprets this:

items is "Automotive"as long as items is less than "Government" perform this task and add 1 to items
The real solution does this:
i is 0as long as i is less than 6 (the length of your array) perform this task and add 1 to i