add a new character at beginning of string

rabbit

Hi,I am quite new to XSLT and intending to convert GML (Geographic Markup Language) to SVG. I have

<gml:coordinates>536039.194,105890.715 536037.361,105897.363 536031.151,105931.173</gml:coordinates>

and I need to put an 'M' in front of the first character and then 'L's where there are spaces. I think I have replaced the spaces with L's using

<xsl:value-of select="translate(osgb:FeatureCollection /osgb:NetworkMember/RoadLink/osgb:polyline/gml:LineString/gml:coordinates, ' ', ' L ')"/>

but I'm not sure how to stick in the M in front of everything. Can anyone give me some pointers please?Thanks very much.

What XSLT processor are you using? How (i.e. on the browser, or on the server)?Can you by any chance be using a processor that supports EXSLT's tokenize() function? If so, you can use that function to split all of the coordinates by space, and then loop through them, adding "M" before "value-of"-ing them.Something like:

<xsl:for-each select="str:tokenize(gml:coordinates,' ')/token">M<xsl:value-of select="."/></xsl:for-each>

(again, this will NOT work unless your XSLT processor supports it, and you have something like:

<xsl:stylesheet version="1.0"				xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform"				xmlns:str="http://exslt.org/strings"				extension-element-prefixes="str">

as your root element.If you have an XSLT 2.0 processor, a similar function is available natively (i.e. any XSLT 2.0 processor would support it).

What XSLT processor are you using? How (i.e. on the browser, or on the server)?Can you by any chance be using a processor that supports EXSLT's tokenize() function? If so, you can use that function to split all of the coordinates by space, and then loop through them, adding "M" before "value-of"-ing them.Something like:
<xsl:for-each select="str:tokenize(gml:coordinates,' ')/token">M<xsl:value-of select="."/></xsl:for-each>