How to display XML with XHTML?

LifeInBinary

I looked thru the XML tutorials on W3Schools, and feel fairly confident as to how to set up XML - but how difficult is it to tell my XHTML to display XML stuff? I mean, lets say that I wanted to display a long list of information - say information about maps for a game (IE: map_title, map_pic-01, map_description, map_download, map_download-link, etc...) - if I want to display the information in the SAME format every time - is there a way that I could use XML almost as a 'database' and tell the XHTML to display the information from the XML? This is a great example of what I am trying to do: http://www.mapraider.com/maps/search/index...e=&process=I would like to set up each map in almost a 'record' - and store info on everything to display under XML tags.To be honest, I know I probably need PHP and MySQL - but I have no experience with those, so I am hoping for an efficient 'work-around' here :/

You need to use a third language to display XML data. It could even become "forth" if you add XSLT into the mix.It could be PHP or JavaScript. It's easier with PHP. You can just have something like

<?php$dom = new DOMDocument;$dom->load('file.xml');$items = $dom->documentElement->childNodes;foreach($items as $node) {echo $node->nodeValue,"\n\n";}?>

to write down the text content of any element right under the root element. Read the DOM tutorial, as well as the DOM reference on PHP.net for more info on that.The situation with JavaScript is almost the same, but the loading of the XML file is a little bit more tricky. W3Schools has a loadXMLDoc() function made for that.

Thank you SO much boen_robot - I will certainly read those tutorials ASAP. That code snippet means nothing to me yet lol - but hopefully it will :)Would you be specifically opposed to me creating a very simple webpage that requires something very similar and getting you to help me make this work on a small scale, so that know I understand it?