Another Problem

ThePsion5

Hi again. I created a table in MySQL using the following statements:

CREATE TABLE ClientsToKeywords(ClientToKeywordID INTEGER NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,ClientID INTEGER NOT NULL,KeywordID INTEGER NOT NULL,Rating INTEGER,CONSTRAINT PRIMARY KEY (ClientToKeywordID),CONSTRAINT FOREIGN KEY (ClientID) REFERENCES Clients(ClientID),CONSTRAINT FOREIGN KEY (KeywordID) REFERENES Keywords (KeywordID),CONSTRAINT UNIQUE (ClientID, KeywordID),) AUTO_INCREMENT = 0;

During the process of populating the database with some test data, i try and enter any one of these statement:

INSERT INTO ClientsToKeywords VALUES(0, 0, 2, 4);INSERT INTO ClientsToKeywords VALUES(0, 0, 5, 4);INSERT INTO ClientsToKeywords VALUES(0, 0, 0, 4);

And recieve this error:

ERROR 1452 (23000): Cannot add or update a child row: a foreign key constraint fails ('test3/clientstokeywords', CONSTRAINT FOREIGN KEY ('ClientID') REFERENCES 'clients' ('ClientID'))

Unfortunately, I'm new to databases, and I don't understand why this would happen. Any help?

first off if ClientToKeywordID is the PK then you can only have one ClientToKeywordID with the value of 0.What the error is saying is that since ClientID is a FK to Clients > ClientID (you are trying to insert a value of 0 for ClientID) there must be a record in Clients with the value of ClientID equal to 0...the error is saying you do not have such a record.By making ClientID a FK to Clients > ClientID you cannot place any ClientID in ClientToKeywordID that does not exist in Clients > ClientID.I hope I explained that well.