PHP MySQL and giberish for output

Lil Puppy

I have 2 different php files that technically accomplish the same output but both fail. I'm quite new to php and mysql, I'm usually just modifying existing code but I need to make this and can't find any examples to work from.What I'm trying to do is make a table that will hold numerical data for the prices of various dyes (for a video game fansite) and the output goes into a table on a webpage(once I get it working right) for the average of the column for each dye that isn't null. I already have the input form to put the data in the table, but I can't seem to get php to output anything correctly and I can't see any errors(though I'm sure there are plenty).I only need to get one of the files to work right so I know what I'm doing wrong.Hope someone can help point out some errors :) ThanksFile 1: Using more complex script

<?phpinclude("config.inc.php");$link = mysql_connect($db_host,$db_user,$db_pass);if(!$link) die ('Could not connect to database: '.mysql_error());mysql_select_db($db_name,$link);//Arrays for color and table field names$color = array("Black","White","Silver","Red","Blue","Green","Yellow","Orange","Purple","Brown");$entry = array("field_1","field_2","field_3","field_4","field_5","field_6","field_7","field_8","field_9","field_10");echo "<html><body>"; //I think I need this//Loop through the table field names and get averages of numerical data in columnsfor ($i=0; $i<=9; $i++){	$xx = $color[$i]; //For Switch function	$yy = $entry[$i]; //For Select Avg below	$price = mysql_query("SELECT AVG(' . $yy . ') FROM ' . $db_table . '");	echo $xx . " " . $yy . " " . $i; //testing to see if it actually loops	switch ($xx)	{	case "Black":		echo $xx . ":" . $price . "k<br/>";	break;	case "White":		echo $xx . ":" . $price . "k<br/>";	break;	case "Brown":		echo $xx . ":" . $price . "g";	break;	default:		echo $xx . ":" . $price . "g<br/>";	}}echo "</body></html>";mysql_close($link);?>

File 2: Using only DB calls