Creating a Trigger

ThePsion5

Hi again,My database consists of 3 tables, two of which contain pure data (Clients, Keywords) and the third (ClientsToKeywords) that is a relationship mapping between the two. I want to record the number of clients per keyword and the number of keywords per client and determined that the most efficient way to do this would be by creating a trigger that updates the value every time the ClientsToKeywords table is modified, but to be honest I'm new to triggers and I'm not sure how to do this. Unfortunately, I havn't been able to find a good online reference for triggers. What would the appropriate syntax be to do this, and where might I be able to find a good trigger tutorial?Database SchemaClients(ClientID, ClientName, ClientWebsite, NumKeywords)Keywords(KeywordID, Keyword, NumClients)ClientsToKeywords(ClientToKeywordID, ClientID, KeywordID, Rating)Note: Underlined fields are primary keys, bold fields are foriegn keys.

what database are you using??? SQL Server? Oracle? MySql?

I'm using MySQL version 5.0.18...and I think I have a partial solution to my problem. If I understand the syntax correctly, this trigger should increment the NumKeywords field if a new entry is added to the ClientsToKeywords table or if a current entry is modified:
CREATE TRIGGER Increment_Num_Keywords AFTER UPDATE OF ClientID ON ClientsToKeywordsFOR EACH ROWWHEN new.ClientID = Clients.ClientIDUPDATE Clients SET  NumKeywords = NumKeywords + 1

I believe this should take care of incrementing the number of Keywords, but I still don't know how to decrement the old one if a client-keyword mapping is modified.

Sorry to double-post.I think I may have found an easier solution to implement, although more computationally expensive for the Database.

CREATE TRIGGER Recount_Num_Keywords AFTER UPDATE OF ClientID ON ClientstoKeywordsBEGINUPDATE Clients SET NumKeywords (SELECT COUNT(*) FROM ClientsToKeywords WHERE ClientID = new.ClientIDEND