Grammer error in tutorial pages.

Vertuas

Hello,I would like to point out an enlish language grammer error in multiple places on th epages of the HTML tutorial.Nouns beginning with a vowel shoud have the word "an" before them, eg :An appleAn orangeAn idiotAn eggAn uncleBill ate an appleNouns beginning with a consonent have the word "a" infront of them, eg:A fishA pageA documentA hourA houseBill lived in a houseSo it follows that because HTML and the phrase "Hyper Text Markup Language" both start with a consonent, they should be proceded with "a" not "an", eg:A HTML page **NOT** an HTML pageA HTML tag **NOT** an HTML tagthis is a HTML page **NOT** this is an HTML pageEverytime "HTML" appears in the tutorial, it has "an" before it.Does any agree that this need to be corrected??ThanksVert

In my offline life, I am a college English professor and novelist. I can speak to this question. One thing to remember is that there is no Academy of English Standards, so our rules are more flexible than those of many other languages, being determined largely by consensus of usage rather than authoritative declaration.As to your question: when a group of letters designating a thing or organization (an acronym) is normally read AS letters, then it is the sound of the first letter that determines the article. In this case, the letter "H" is pronounced "aitch," so "an" is the correct article.But even if the acronym were intended to be read as the words for which the letters stand, the "H" in "hypertext" presents a challenge. When the "H" is silent, as in the word "honor," "an" is the correct article. When the "H" is sounded, as in "hyper-," most contemporary American authors would preface it with "a" rather than "an." But this is a recent trend. For hundreds of years, all writers of English prefaced all "H" words with "an." Many conservative British authors continue to do so.It is worth noting that many ancient and modern languages have no letter equivalent of "H." Instead, they place