Page Length

jense

Hello all,I'm fairly new at coding with CSS and it works out pretty well, but I do have a question I couldn't find the answer to in the tutorials.I would like the height of my pages to be as long as the browser you're viewing it in. I know that you can set the height at a certain amount of pixels, but that's not what I'm after. You can see -- here -- that when I don't write enough the dark red just stops showing. I can solve it with  , but that makes it too messy. Besides, if you view it in 800x600 or 1024x768 or even bigger, it would all be different as well...So, I would like the bottom of the dark red to be the bottom of the browser. Can anyone help me out?Thanks ahead!Jense

You have to set the html,body height to 100% and every 'copntainer' you make to have a height of 100%...this will sort of do what you want but every browser seems to interpret this differently making it unreliable and clumsy..I have yet to find a sure fire way to do this.

The method that aspnetguy suggest works in all browsers besides IE6 where it's buggy. A way around this is to insert this into the CSS code.

html, body{height: 100%;}*html{height: auto;}

As far as I know, it should work in all modern browsers(IE6, FireFox, Opera, Safari and even IE 5(both Windows and MAC)).