User Access Using Php & Mysql

royarellano

Hello All:I'm fairly new to PHP development and I have a few quesitons. I've developed a basic website which contains a directory which has files with forms to update the websites content, a Content Management System (CMS) per-say. I've included a username and password login form which will post to itself, upon returning to itself it should run some PHP code which should query the MySQL db. If it is a valid username and password then a cookie is set and the viewer is directed using the "header" code to the cms main page. No all the cms pages have a bit a code at the top which states that if the correct cookie is not set in the system then that viewer is not logged in and therefore will be redirected (header again) to the login page. All the pages are in PHP. I've divided the three main codes blocks below, can anyone review and tell me where I could be going wrong. What I am getting right now is that the user log's in, but the login error is kicked off stating that the username and password are invalid. Thanks.[LOGIN PAGE]<?php require("../php/dbConn.php"); require("../php/userCon.php"); $logInErrors = false; if(count($_POST) > 0) { $U = $_POST['fldUsername']; $P = $_POST['fldPassword']; openDBConn($dbcon); newLogIn($U, $P); if(newLogIn($U, $P)) { header('Location: cmsmain.php'); } else { $logInErrors = true; } }?>[dbConn.php PAGE]<?php function openDBConn($dbcon) { $dbcon = mysql_connect("localhost", "xxxxxxxxx", "xxxxxxxxx"); if(!$dbcon) { die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error()); } mysql_select_db("xxxxxxxx", $dbcon); } function closeDBConn($dbcon) { mysql_close($dbcon); }?>[userCon.php PAGE]<?php function isLogedIn() { if(isset($_COOKIE["c61uAuth"]) && $_COOKIE['c61uAuth'] == 'true') { return true; } else { return false; } } function newLogIn($U, $P) { $selectuser = ("SELECT usrAccess FROM t_axxess WHERE usrAccess = '$U' AND usrPass = '$P'"); $row = openDBConn($selectuser); if($row != null) { setcookie("c61uAuth", url