Js Tutorial

webmaster@indigotide.com

Hi, I am a newbie to JS and I was looking at the Tutorials for bitwise comparisons for a practice script. I noticed that JS Operators does not mention bitwise operators, and likewise neither does JS Comparisons. Something like if( x & 8 ). Other than that, I have already learned a lot just by reading the Tutorials and posts. Thanks for the great site. PS, I found what I needed on Google...just FYI. Thanks again.

Bitwise operators (in any language - JS, PHP, etc.) are very difficult to explain. Tell me, how long was the article that actually made you understand them?I mean, anyone can say "bitwise operators work on their operands in their bit representation, whereas other operators work on the full representation", but to really see where and how this makes a difference, a whole (and I bet a long...) article is needed. W3Schools is for beginners, and bitwise operators are difficult to explain even to not-so-much-newbies, so imagine how much harder would be for true newbies.

Philosophically, I'm all for completeness. Even a brief statement about bitwise operators might reassure a programmer skilled in another language that they are available in javascript.But you also have to wonder how useful they are in a comparatively slow, interpreted environment. There are no DOM functions that involve bitmasking, for example. If you need to pass 8 Boolean values at once, I doubt you'd gain any useful speed or memory benefits using bits instead of bytes, especially when the typical JS function is so short-lived.I wonder if anyone's benchmarked that kind of thing.Just Some Guy was amazed a few months back when he finally encountered a useful application for a bitwise operator in javascript. It was his first one. Mine too, and I've never seen any others.Maybe I'm writing the wrong kind of apps. :)