Problem With Rollover Script

therschbach

Hi all, I have an index page at www.dirtjournal.com that has a menu bar with button images with id's button0 through button9. Next to the buttons I have corresponding images with id's coin0 through coin9, one for each button, that I want to change to an animated image when I rollover the corresponding button. Well, it doesn't work. I've narrowed down the problem but I'm just learning so I'm sure it's a simple fix. The index.php page links to this javascript file....

window.onload = initAll;function initAll() {  for (i=0; i < 10; i++) {	setupRollover(i);  }} function setupRollover(i) {  document.getElementById('button' + i).onmouseover = coinStart(i);  document.getElementById('button' + i).onmouseout = coinStop(i);}function coinStart(i) {  document.getElementById('coin' + i).src = "./pictures/rotatingcoin.gif";}function coinStop(i) {  document.getElementById('coin' + i).src = "./pictures/coin.gif";}

The variable "i" passes to the setupRollover function and plugs itself into ('button' + i), but it won't pass itself to the coinStart or coinStop functions. I can manually set the coin ID in those functions and delete the (i) from the function calls and it will work for whatever image I specify so I know the coinStart and coinStop functions work. The problem seems to be with how I'm passing (i) to coinStart and coinStop in the setupRollover function.Thanks for your help! :)

Your code is passing the result of the "coinStart" and "coinStop" functions (which is void) to the onmouseover and onmouseout events. Instead, you'll need to pass a reference to a function. Something like this might work for you:

function setupRollover(i) {  document.getElementById('button' + i).onmouseover = function() { coinStart(i); }  document.getElementById('button' + i).onmouseout = function() { coinStop(i); }}

Ok, that makes sense. I figured it was something like that. I'll give the change a shot when I get home from work. Thanks!